Ladies, You Are All Awesome

God loves each of us as if there was only one of us.St. Augustine

How often do we get caught up in comparing ourselves with someone else? We discount our own gifting’s or abilities because someone else has the same gifting’s and abilities…and, in our opinion, they do it better. But, here’s the thing I’m learning:

Our opinion about our awesomeness has nothing to do with how awesome we really are.

Sure, we need to have confidence in ourselves. But, this confidence, if based solely upon what we can do within our own strength, will only get us so far. We will eventually feel depleted and worn out from trying to convince ourselves and everyone else just how talented we are. Sounds pretty exhausting to me.

The question that God has been gently asking me lately puts things in a new perspective. He says, “Do you believe that I would uniquely make you just to watch you fight for your place in the world?”  

He made each of us uniquely yet we compete and strive for center stage because we are so worried that someone else is going to out-do us. We strive to perform perfectly so that someone else doesn’t have a chance to one-up us. Or we try to outshine the rest because we only feel accepted if we get the public acclaim and applause.

The problem with this situation lies in the answer to God’s provocative question. Many of us, not being confident in who God made us to be, would say, “Yes, God, I believe you want me to work for my position.”

That’s what I said when He first prompted me for an answer. Was God stunned at my response? Definitely not. He already knew the fragile condition of my heart. I, on the other hand, was shocked by my admission.

I assure you, He wanted me to be aware of my self-dependency so He could point me back to the truth of His all-sufficiency.

However, we don’t have to prove ourselves to anyone. God made us unique which means we are matchless. We are distinct in our calling, our makeup, our strengths, and yes, even our weaknesses.

St. Augustine said, “God loves each of us as if there was only one of us.” So, why are we constantly trying to prove to everyone just how lovable we are? Our value can’t be overestimated. Our worth can’t be bottled and sold to the highest bidder. God already paid for us with His unrelenting love and yet we try to convince ourselves and everyone else of our importance.

I think its high time we ladies got a glimpse of just how amazingly loved we are. We shouldn’t be downgrading our own value because of someone else’s value. We are all equally valuable but are all uniquely made. God doesn’t love us all the same because He made us all different. He does, however, love us all completely.

When we really understand this truth, we start walking in a new level of freedom in our relationships with God and others. We don’t have to try to be better than her (who pops in your mind?) because she was created for something that you could never do. (And vice-versa.)

We GET to embrace our uniqueness with confidence because we know that He never, ever compares us to each other. He affectionately looks at each of us individually and sees a beautiful woman made in His image. (Genesis 1:27)  There’s no upstaging that!

4 thoughts on “Ladies, You Are All Awesome

  1. I could not agree more. Even if we are conscious, we end up comparing ourselves with others which hurts us even more. It is so important to take pride is who we are and what we do.
    A good post!

    Like

Comments are closed.