Why a Weekend in Vegas Doesn’t Appeal to Me

Hey friends! I want to share with you what I am learning over and over again in my life…especially in my #healthyover30 journey.

feelingslie

You look in the mirror and don’t see physical changes so you FEEL discouraged.

You had a bad eating day. Now your tummy aches and you FEEL like a failure.

You worked out extra hard and your body is aching so much that you FEEL overwhelmed.

You got in an argument with your spouse before bed last night and you don’t FEEL like getting up early to run.

You read the magazine article about Gwyneth Paltrow’s kick-a** post baby body and you FEEL defeated.

You see how feelings don’t care about your goals and plans? They want you to give in to their whiny and selfish ways. Here’s the thing: 

Feed Your Feelingsand

You can’t listen to your feelings. They will only leave you high and dry when the next best thing (a.k.a. the newest feeling) comes along. Why do you think I am calling this my #healthyover30 journey and not my #healthyover30 weekend in Vegas? Cause it’s not a short-lived goal. It isn’t something I’m temporarily excited about but only doing until the feelings of fun and anticipation drop me back off at the airport alone. I’m not just choosing to live a healthier lifestyle when it’s convenient or thrilling.

I’m choosing to do this whole foods, exercise daily, love my spirit-soul-body thing forever. No temporary high can give me the results I want. Even the good feelings leave…

Good health brings great feelings but there’s more to it than that. It brings less doctor’s visits and more endurance during trials. It brings more purposeful moments with my children and extra patience with myself. It increases my understanding for others blazing their own health trails and gives me boundaries that keep me focused on living my best life.

Feelings can’t do any of that. So, I’ll keep on lacing up my running shoes. Promise me something? That I’ll see you on the track. 

2 thoughts on “Why a Weekend in Vegas Doesn’t Appeal to Me

  1. Ugh I need to take a page from your book. Exercising used to make me feel so good but I just feel like I can’t get back into it! Well said!

    Like

Comments are closed.