Healthy Over 30!

Healthy

Today is a health focused post! Each Sunday I am going to include some health tips from different people in the nutrition/fitness community that I have been following. Feel free to tackle a few tips this week and comment to let me know how they worked for you. I will use the tag #healthyover30 so go ahead and tag your instagram pics, facebook posts, blog pieces, and tweets with #healthyover30 if you’re joining me on this journey. Isn’t this fun? 🙂

Before I get started with the amazing tips I have found for you this weekend, let me tell you my personal goals for this season of my life. I am 35 years old (so not a young spring chicken anymore!) and I feel like I am now at a place where I need to need to go big or go home. My kids are getting more independent and I am finding myself with a little more time to be able to really focus on me lately. (Woo hoo!)

For the past month or so, my friend, Jennifer, and I have been meeting to walk or run about three to four mornings a week at 5:15 a.m. Usually we finish 3 miles. This past Saturday we did a little over 5 miles. We also get together every Monday night and take Zumba from this seriously awesome chick at the YMCA. Her classes have been a huge motivator for me in my recent fitness journey! (I am going to include her FB page link in the tips below so you can watch her videos if you want!) I have also, in large part to Jennifer’s influence, started taking huge steps in the vegetarian direction. She has been a vegetarian for the past seven years and has shown me that there is so much creative freedom in this meatless lifestyle. I am turning over a new leaf, friends!

Here are my current #healthyover30 goals: (Follow me on twitter @Nspiritandtruth)

  1. Get my Zumba instructor certification in August to start teaching.
  2. Run or walk 20 miles a week.
  3. Start eliminating meat from my diet in gradual progression from one day a week to seven days a week. (This is a year-long goal I’ve given myself.)
  4. Post daily pictures of healthy meal options through instagram for accountability. (Follow me at hvheartsong)
  5. Journal the highs and lows of this process every Sunday for you to glean wisdom from along with tips to stay motivated.  

Now, on to some fun links and tips for you to read or watch when you get some time!

Here’s the link to my fave Zumba instructor’s facebook page: https://www.zumba.com/en-US/instructor/Kylie_Edwards/75327

She has her playlist on there as well as step by step video teachings so you can learn the choreography. And she’s a bit spunky so she’s super fun to follow. My fave routine from her class is to the Fifth Harmony song, “Worth It”!  

This is my new favorite Youtube channel: https://www.youtube.com/user/MindOverMunch

This girl, Alyssia Sheikh, has some amazing recipe videos and workout tutorials on here. She posts new videos every Monday and Thursday with links to pdf files for the printable recipes. If you’re vegan, vegetarian, or a meat-eater, she is your gal! Take a look at her meal prep video: 

Wanna know my go-to healthy living magazine for recipes, inspiration, and fitness helps? Well, here ya go! Skinny Mom

Lastly, here is my empowering #healthyover30 song choice for that extra push to keep going on tough days.

I hope that you will join in the fun and set some #healthyover30 goals for yourself as well. If you’re not over 30, you can still join in the fun. Just comment below with your hashtag of choice linking to your personal goals page and I’ll follow and cheer you on! Have some fitness or nutrition advice that you would like to share? Comment below to let me know and we’ll be in touch. I love hearing about everyone’s goals and journeys. Oh, and don’t ever forget:

15

Healthy

8 thoughts on “Healthy Over 30!

  1. You have got some great goals. And what a great way to hold yourself accountable, sharing your journey with us!

    Now that my husband and I are both over 30, we have also started to reassess our health and fitness. We’ve started incorporating PiYo workouts into out weekly routine and have also realized, through participation in a protein challenge, that we are not getting nearly enough protein for our age and activity level. To help make some of that deficit up, I have been incorporating more meat into our diet, especially beef. Mostly because we raise it ( 😉 ), but also because it gives us more nutritional bang for our buck than other protein sources. One 3 ounce serving of beef provides us 10% (or more) of the daily recommended value for 10 essential vitamins and nutrients. And, beef tastes great! So, there is that.

    Anyway – diet, nutrition, and exercise are definitely choices of the personal variety and I in no way would ever pressure you to change your decision to go vegetarian, but I am here if you ever have questions (any questions) about beef.

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Awesome! Yes, I agree, to each his own when it comes to diet, nutrition, and exercise. I say as long as you’re being proactive about all three then you’re doing more than most people! Thanks for the comment. Sounds like you are doing some great things to stay healthy as well! ❤

      Like

  2. I love how you are putting your goals out there. I will follow along in your journey. I just joined weight watchers this week, so I’m starting to make my health a priority, too. Good luck! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.