Kiss Them Goodnight

23253542789_5d92e5fe16

Having kids is tiring. I love each of my four bundles with insane devotion but, man, I have a hard time keeping my eyes open after 8:00 pm these days.

Kissing them goodnight requires some major willpower because I am typically a lazy pile of bones on the couch by then. I’ve started drifting off to dreamland when I hear little feet running in my direction.

“Mommy, don’t forget to come pray and kiss us goodnight.” 

I want to stay on that sofa. I want to be comfortable. I want to doze off under the warm blanket. After all, it has been a long day of mothering.

But I don’t. (Unless I’m sick and literally can’t get up off the couch.) Not because I’m amazing and super awesome. Only because of the promise I made to myself when I became a mom: I WILL ALWAYS CHOOSE MY KIDS’ FUTURE OVER MY PRESENT.

One day, I won’t have little cheeks to kiss and tiny hands to hold in the night. One day, I will no longer be able to whisper God’s truth into their ears as the sun goes down outside their bedroom windows.

One day, they will be all grown up and in their own homes wrestling with the idea of staying on that cozy couch instead of getting up to tuck their precious little ones into bed.

And I want them to choose well. I want them to put tomorrow ahead of today. I want them to look back and remember that I never forgot to kiss them goodnight.

photo credit: Playing in bed via photopin (license)
4 thoughts on “Kiss Them Goodnight

  1. Yes! It is a firm policy around here that nights end with hugs, kisses, and loving words. My oldest is 14 and affection is tricky with him, but he never misses coming upstairs for his hug. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.