A Lesson from the Oak Tree

21009490426_75c04bbeff

The mighty Oak reaches out her limbs as if to say:

Gather ’round everyone! I have a story to tell. Come sit on my branches or climb to the top. Your choice! I can show you the forest and all that it offers. I can keep you safe in my entangled green brush. 

21520266831_709b618d50

She speaks in deep tones as she delivers her truth:

I have lived here for 200 years and have watched the seasons come and go. The birds build their nests in my magnificent shade and learn how to fly under my canopy. The squirrels collect my acorns as they prepare for the limitations of winter. Children run around my trunk playing hide and seek and jump in my rusty orange leaves of fall. 

22735822771_26bd289746

Her mysterious countenance reveals a secret:

When I was planted long ago, I had no idea how large I would become. I’ve grown and grown past my own sight yet I don’t feel overstretched or pulled beyond my ability. My deep roots keep me secure and confident as I expand up and out. The deeper my roots go down into the moist earth, the more leaves I sprout for the critters to eat, the more shade I provide to cover the birds from the rain, the more  secure I am in my majesty and strength. 

21059985262_84db8bc4aa

The mighty Oak laughs as she gives herself away:

NO matter the small beginnings, the changing seasons, or the quaking storms,  

the Sun never forgot to shine on me. 

 

photo credit: Thomasville Georgia ~ The Big Oak Tree ~ Historic Site via photopin (license)
photo credit: Arrival of Autumn via photopin (license)
photo credit: Angel Leads Me On via photopin (license)
photo credit: Paisaje de septiembre via photopin (license)
One thought on “A Lesson from the Oak Tree

Comments are closed.