In Hot Pursuit

Pursue (verb)- to follow and try to catch or capture (someone or something) for usually a long distance or time (Merriam Webster)

Synonyms for “pursue”: chase, run, shadow

15052880601_a243e8efb2

What are you chasing after? What is the one thing that you have been pursuing above all else?

I’ve been asking myself this question lately because when life gets hectic, it’s time to re-evaluate priorities. Considering my recent personal loss, I’ve been in a state of “what’s worthwhile and what’s purposeless?” in my daily life.

I’m a deep thinker so everything must have a meaning. And I truly believe that everything does have significance. Nothing happens by chance in my book. No coincidences. However, I can get lost in thought as to what the meaning behind things are and forget about the purpose of today.

Like…neglecting to laugh with my kids right now because my heart is so focused on why I chose to act impatiently with them yesterday. Like…refusing to enjoy my husband’s presence today because my mind is so distracted by why I said harsh words to him last night. My kids and my hubby have let it go. Why can’t I?

The why’s of life can stop us from actually living life. The why’s of life keep us stuck and we end up pursuing things out of pain from our past instead of going after things out of promise for our future.

So, in an effort to pursue the right things, I’m challenging myself to do what Paul says in Hebrews 12:1-2,

“…let us lay aside every weight, and the sin which so easily ensnares us, and let us run with endurance the race that is set before us, looking unto Jesus, the author and finisher of our faith, who for the joy that was set before Him endured the cross…”

I can’t possibly be pursuing future joy if I’m holding on to the weight of my past. This means that I have to make a choice about whose shadow I’m going to be standing in…

The shadow of my sin or the shadow of God’s grace?

Both options permit me to chase, to pursue, to run after something “for a long distance or time.”

The shadow of my sin leaves me in the dark always groping for hope and forgiveness. The shadow of God’s grace leads me out of the dark assuring me of hope and forgiveness. The shadow of my sin haunts me in the night and reminds me of my shame. The shadow of God’s grace lavishes me with unconditional love and acceptance because of His Son.

I can be grateful that He has let it go (like my gracious hubby and kids) or hold onto what I’ve done (the sin that entangles) and refuse His mercy.

But the joy, oh the radiant, inexpressible joy, that comes when we look ahead and lay everything else down. He is patiently waiting for us to seek Him with all that is in us. To place Him in the seat of highest honor in our hearts. To pursue the One who has never stopped pursuing us.

How could I resist an offer like that?

 

photo credit: Run 70/365 via photopin (license)
