Learning the Language of Love

As many of you know, I am reading one book per month as a personal growth goal for 2016. (See the list of books I’m diving into HERE.) February’s selection was an amazing book by Bob Goff called “Love Does.”

love-does-goff

This book had been recommended to me atleast a dozen times before I actually got around to reading it. Now I know why! Here are a few things I learned about love from this life-changing book:

  1. Love is personal. Each chapter gives the reader a story from the author’s life where love was shown to him or through him. I was in awe of the many different ways he was able to recognize God’s love on his behalf. Goff has a natural knack for story telling and leaves us in a place where we are motivated to look for God’s ever present love in our lives as well.
  2. Love takes risks. Every story Goff weaved brought a level of challenge and adventure with it. He claims that “Jesus invites us on an adventure, He shapes who we become with what happens along the way.” (p. 130)
  3. Love doesn’t need a mission statement. You don’t have to join an organization that claims they are in the “love others” business in order to actually love others. He calls people who don’t flash their love around “secretly incredible people.” No capes to show off your love. No signs to promote your love. Just loving for the sake of loving.
  4. Love isn’t afraid of failure. In fact, love thrives off of going after our dreams even when the probability of success seems low. Goff says that failure is just an opportunity to think differently about some things.
  5. Love is audacious. It goes to extravagant measures to ensure others know that they are, in fact, loved. It doesn’t matter if people think you’re going overboard or caring too much. Love is more concerned with loving than with what onlookers might have to say about the way you do the loving.

I hope these reasons encourage you to check out this book. I know it is one that I will read again. I’ll leave you with my favorite quote from the story he told about his beloved, yet beat up JEEP:

“I know it sounds goofy, but I want to be like that Jeep. I want to leak from having been hit by Jesus. From having something crazy happen to me, something that flipped my life upside down. I’ve met people like that, people who leak Jesus. Whenever you’re around them, Jesus keeps coming up with words and with actions. I don’t suppose everybody gets hit by Jesus, but those of us who have talk about Him differently. We start steering funny; we start leaking where we stand. And it’s because we got thrown from our lives in a terrific collision.” 

 

(To see January’s book review, click here.)

