Saturday Spotlight

13826076223_081b3f9212

(photo credit: 2_DSC5500bw via photopin (license))

 

I am starting a new series called #saturdayspotlight  where I post an article of interest and see what you guys think about it. The one I’m posting today is by Hannah Brooks Olsen of the World Post and it’s titled “Why Some Women Smile at Men Who Sexually Harass Them.” I thought it was brilliant. She points out the fact that ignoring a male cat-call isn’t going to make it stop. I love how she calls courtesy her weapon and politeness her armor. Seriously, girls. She nails it, in my humble opinion.

For those of you who don’t know me well, I’m pretty big into women’s rights. While this article does border on male-bashing, the overall message was very relateable because I, like most women, have found myself in similar situations to hers. (Disclaimer- she does use a few choice cuss words SO if that doesn’t jive with you, skip this one.) 🙂

Check out her article and let me know what you think! Of course, I will only approve your comments if they are kindly worded. I don’t mind controversial subject matter but I won’t stand for rude attacks. Thanks!

