Bare Feet and All…

35347611_f524e49b45

I don’t like to wear shoes. Unless they’re a $10 pair of hot pink flip flops. And even then, I slip them off the first chance I get cause I tend to get a blister next to my big toe.

I’ve always been this way. And my kids are exactly the same. I can’t keep a pair of shoes on those children. It’s seriously frustrating. (Like when it’s 30 degrees outside!) But I only get a tad irritated with their lack of care about keeping their feet covered. Because once you have felt the freedom that comes with naked feet, you just can’t wrap your head around stuffing them into shoes ever again.

What about fitting into a pair of strappy sandals that are a teensy bit snug for the sake of the fancy dress? We’ve all done it and regretted it later. It’s like walking on pillows when we take those too snug suckers off our devalued feet.

Just being able to wiggle my toes as little or as much as I want is enough to keep me shoeless most of the time.

3668219748_6e0e69cfde

Today I was thinking about my cold toes bundled up under the blanket and how I’d much rather have them freeze from nakedness then put on socks and confine them to a limited space of warmth.Yeah, it’s crazy. But it’s the truth. My feet can’t stand being contained. Have you ever thought about it?

What if this whole “footloose and fancy-free” thing is really a deep inner truth that God planted within each of us? What if we were made to really feel the earth beneath us and the many types of terrains this includes. Hot asphalt. Grainy sand. Rocky gravel. Lush grass. Wet puddles. Slippery Ice. Cold Concrete. Pillowy carpet.

What if we were meant to live unhindered? Limitless?

6861365408_4dc5d4eb04

I can’t rationalize wearing shoes when my feet long to feel every new place with complete abandon. Without fear of what lies on the path ahead of me. With trust that my unshod footing is secure even if splintered and sore.

And though my uncovered arches might ache from the erratic trail, they won’t be bound by any man, any trappings, or any weight of this world. I’ll bravely walk on broken glass if that’s what it takes to demonstrate a life of true freedom. Woundedness equals resiliency. It doesn’t take away liberty.

Freedom isn’t dependent on the unpredictable laws of nature or the self serving laws of man. It’s only dependent on the singular law of unobstructed love. And my willingness to trust the loving heart of the barefoot One who died to set me free.

 

photo credit: the tao of elle via photopin (license)

photo credit: Sunday Morning via photopin (license)

photo credit: Sand-Between-Toes_Woman-Feet__392810 via photopin (license)

4 thoughts on “Bare Feet and All…

  1. “Freedom isn’t dependent on the unpredictable laws of nature or the self serving laws of man. It’s only dependent on the singular law of unobstructed love. And my willingness to trust the loving heart of the barefoot One who died to set me free.” Love this. What a great reminder of why we are here, “doing” what we’re doing. Well said 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Comments are closed.