How the Sunrise Spoke to Me

It’s Wednesday and I’m wishing it were the weekend already. I guess that’s why they call it “Hump Day.” Cause you’re over the hump of the dreaded first half of the week and only have a few more days left til you can get some rest.

kWjpETn

For me, I’ve been in this place of being so tired lately that not much productivity is happening on my end. I am fighting some sort of sinus infection and have had crazy pain in my neck for a whole week now. Plus I’m dealing with some personal issues that make it hard to get out of bed sometimes.

But during this difficult week, God has shown me His mercy in beautiful ways. Every morning I’ve had the privilege of getting up earlier than I usually do and this is what I see on my AM route:

12698680_10153788748896013_4389231710717467705_o

I don’t think you can get a clearer picture of God’s tangible mercy than an array of pink and purple hues shining through a blanket of clouds. What an image to be planted in my mind at the beginning of my day! I get to carry this visual display of beauty with me all day long.

What about you? Are you looking for God to show up in REAL ways this week? Or are you just passing the time and ignoring the visible signs of His goodness all around? (Believe me, I’ve been guilty of this in the past!)

I gotta say, though, this sunrise was a wake up call for me to really notice the handiwork of God as I go about my day. I’m tired but God refuels me with this radiant picture of His loving-kindness. I’m aching but God soothes my wounds with this impression of His merciful touch upon my heart.

I GET to wake up today. I GET to see the glory of God all around me. I GET to walk through any situation with the memory of His faithfulness singing in my head.

Today, I GET to arise and shine, for the glory of the Lord is shining upon me. (Isaiah 60:1)

And so do you.

 

 

One thought on “How the Sunrise Spoke to Me

Comments are closed.