Are You Listening?

photo credit: Praise via photopin (license)

I was reminded this morning that God is always speaking. Even when we can’t hear Him. He is. We just have to be looking for His hand at work and listening for His voice.

Take a minute right now. Take a minute to notice Him. He longs for you to really see Him, to really hear Him. There is so much He is saying.


 

In the crash of the waves – “I am overwhelming you with My love.”

In the whirling of the wind– “I am right beside you. I will never leave.”

In the laughter of your children– “You are forever mine. You make me smile.”

In the sounds of silence– “In rest, I whisper in your ear about the good plans I have for you.”


It’s hard for us to comprehend that God enjoys talking to us. In fact, we over-complicate things in our limited human intellect and assume that because He is not speaking in an audible voice that He must be avoiding us. But God is not like man. We can’t reduce Him to what we know.

Can He speak to us in a recognizable way? Sure. He does. But the beauty of an intimate relationship is being able to know the other person so well that you can hear Him speaking even when He is not uttering a sound. That’s what God wants in a relationship with us. Intimacy. Connection. An unspoken language that can only be discerned by spending time with Him.


 

Today, as we enter into the weekend, I challenge you to take some time to listen. What do you hear? The atmosphere around you may be loud and chaotic. But, trust me, if you fine-tune your listening skills, you can hear Him in the quiet places of your heart.

As we focus on His goodness, we begin to walk in confidence that God loves us (John 3:16), that He’ll never leave us (Deuteronomy 31:6), that we are His beloved children (1 John 3:1), and that He has an amazing purpose for our lives (Jeremiah 29:11). 

Are you listening?

 

4 thoughts on “Are You Listening?

Comments are closed.