If I Had 6 Months Left to Live…

photo credit: suns(ilhou)et(te) via photopin (license)

I would NOT go somewhere new or do something different just for the sake of saying that I did it.

I would simply be present. I would focus on here. Now. I wouldn’t do one single thing without my family by my side.

Because, really, what’s the most important thing? That my husband and kids know I love them.

Sure, there are beautiful places in this world that I would love to see. There are amazing experiences that I would like to have. But, when all is said and done, that stuff isn’t going to last in my memory once I am gone.

What is going to last? The moments that my family and I will spend together those final days. Cause once I’m gone, I’m gone.

But what I leave behind, well, that matters. Choosing joy in the midst of scary circumstances will show my children that having an eternal perspective is vital to truly living. Saying prayers every night with my husband despite my inner struggle with leaving him alone will model the importance of life-long faith.

Yes, I am just one person. But, so are you. And one life is significant. Not because I do a lot of really cool stuff and travel to amazing places. No. One life is significant because we each have been given the chance to affect other lives for good. The only hope anyone really has is if each of us determines to live each day like we are in the final stages of life on earth.

Just maybe, then, this world might be full of people that are really living instead of people just barely alive. It’s not about my life being gone. It’s about your life living on.

What would you do if you only had 6 months left to live?

