Is it the weekend yet?

photo credit: [I take my Tea[#1] via photopin (license)

It’s been a Monday. Rowdy kids that don’t want to listen. Impatient mama that doesn’t want to deal with it.

One child has pink eye. Another is a toddler (need I say more?) The other two are wild and crazy testosterone infused boys that can’t sit still for longer than 20 minutes. SERIOUSLY.

But, I have purposely been refocusing my mind on Jesus every single moment I get frustrated or irritated today. The verses God gave me this morning to meditate on were in James 4, verses 7 -8:

“Submit yourselves, then, to God. Resist the devil, and he will flee from you. Come near to God and He will come near to you.”

God knew I would need to resist the devil today. Cause I sure have wanted to scream and yell and pitch a fit over every single little thing. And there have been ALOT of little things.

But each time, I recalled the above verse and read it softly. I put my name in it and said something like this: “I, Harmony, will submit myself, then, to God. I will resist the devil, and he will flee from me. I will come near to God and He will come near to me.”

And I said it again. Until I actually started to act like I believed it. The word of God is powerful but we have to incorporate it into our lives in order to see that power manifest.

This day has been hard but that Bible verse has been like a soothing balm over my stressed out soul that has quieted me in the angry moments and reminded me that I have a choice- I can give in to the devil and fly off the handle. OR I can turn my back on him and surrender my anger to the only One capable of giving me the peace I need to get through it.

With each breath I choose Jesus because being near to Him is the only place that I want to be. And He wants to be near to me too.

That may be the best news I’ve heard all day.

NaBloPoMo November 2015

