Sing My Soul

I woke up with this new song by Amanda Cook stuck in my head:

I’m in a funk this week. Feeling under the weather with a cold. Super tired and lacking desire to exercise. And my kids always seem to be the most rambunctious when I’m feeling the least motivated. 🙂

My get up and go has left the building with no hint as to when it’s gonna return. Blah is my current state of being.

But, I love how this song was in my brain when I woke up because, honestly, I did not feel like spending time in prayer or worship this morning. It’s like God implanted this sweet little reminder inside of me so I would want to come to Him first thing.

I love the words to this song because it reminds me that I don’t have to feel like worshiping to worship.

He knew that I would have slow days and tiring seasons. Yet He is still worthy to be praised (despite how I feel.)

So, today I took a time out from all things that tend to pull me away from His presence. And I worshiped. No tv. No books. (GASP!) No social media (ok, I did post pics of my kids being adorable on instagram but that was IT.)

His word says that His presence is where joy is found. And that He renews my strength. And that He gives rest to the weary.

All things that make my heart want to sing and my feet want to dance. I can’t even muster up the desire to come to him on my own. He gives that to me too. And I’m grateful. Where would I be without the Lord’s guidance in my life?

Without a song to sing, I’m afraid….

NaBloPoMo November 2015

One thought on “Sing My Soul

Comments are closed.