A Warrior’s Cry ( a poem about human trafficking)

Main_human-traffiking28910_2041

The night becomes my blanket

The stars a lighted path

I struggle to breathe in deep

But my lungs ache with every breath.

He pushes me along the road

I have no hope of escape

Bruises already cover me

From the last time I tried to get away.

Now I know what he expects

Now I know just what to do

I won’t buck against the rules this time

I’ll be a good girl and follow suit.

OH, I might be wearing heels

And a dress that shows my skin

But I promise you, on the inside,

I’m more than what he says I am.

Yeah, I might be smiling wide

And giving him what he asks

But I promise you with all that is in me

I’m not just “a good time” in the sack.

One day they’ll come for me

One day my voice will be heard

I just have to keep on shouting

Until they hear the depths of my hurt.

I keep groping in the dark

I keep searching for a light

Does love even really exist?

Or am I just here to service him for a night?

This wasn’t my choice, by the way,

I never wanted this life

The drugs and the sex and the pain

All it does is make me cry.

Won’t you listen to me?

Don’t you know that I’m here?

Someone please let them know.

Or I might just die from fear.

Look high and low for me

Please, I just want to go home

My hope is fading by the hour

My life is no longer my own.

I’m fighting to be heard.

I’m punching at the air.

My voice gets lost among the noise

Does anyone out there even care?

For ways to get involved in the fight against human trafficking visit The A21 Campaign .

NaBloPoMo November 2015

