On expectations

15952337600_6bb85286f9

People let you down. It’s unfortunate but it happens ALL THE TIME. I really wish it would stop happening to me.

I don’t know about you, but I’m so tired of being caught up in a mess of emotions when it happens, too.

Like, even when I try not to put my faith in someone for the exact purpose of not getting let down, I still become a fumbled mess when they do. Because they inevitably do.

Even the best, most trustworthy person will let you down.

I think my lack of faith in the other person becomes a self-fulfilling prophecy that they will not live up to my expectations of them. Because, really, if you think about it, we all have expectations of each other.

And many of them are unsaid expectations. So, that might be a problem. Just saying.

And don’t think for one second that I have removed my own faultiness from this equation. I accept full responsibility for letting you down, whoever you might be. Because even if I haven’t yet, I will. It’s just bound to happen.

This is where I’d like to say that there’s a special class you can take to help you let go of expectations and move forward with confidence that you will never let anyone down again.

But, I can’t. Because anyone that sells you that line is pulling one over on ya.

There is Someone who will never let you down, however. His name is Jesus.

And He constantly reassures and reminds me of His faithfulness. Even when I’m less than faithful to Him (which is daily).

The same holds true for you too. Feeling like you can’t seem to stay true to your word? Hurt because your friend let you down again? Turn your eyes to Jesus, friend.

Only He can comfort you in your pain and direct you towards a fulfilling life.

“For the God who calls you is faithful, and He can be trusted to make it so.”-1 Thess. 5:24

NaBloPoMo November 2015

